News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Dummies guide to Amstrads scrolling abilities....

Started by Puresox, 22:02, 09 December 16

Previous topic - Next topic

Puresox

I am trying to understand what the CPC's scrolling capabilities are, as I really am not sure on Whats what with it.? As I am not a programmer I am not familiar with these things.
When I was a kid I thought that the CPC didn't have hardware scrolling abilities and the sight of plenty of jerky games confirmed this. However since coming onto the CPCWiki forum ,I've heard people state 'crertain games are utilising the CPC's hardware scroll'.
Any chance of giving a run down on why hardware scroll was not used in plenty of games,
-was it because people were not aware of it?
-Or was it due to limitations?
- Does the hardware scroll work in the same Fashion Vertically as well as Horizontally
- Are the speed of the scroll limited,or is it highly variable ?
Thanks.

genesis8

Hardware scroll only on CPC+ range of computers, not the first three models (464, 664 and 6128).

B-Asic v3.4 by longshot permits to use hardware scrolls with basic (rsx commands) on Amstrad CPC+.

Programmers are better now at using CPC hardware.

AMSDOS

I don't have all the answers to that, there are probably games written in the past which could have used one scrolling routine over another. Hardware scrolling isn't necessarily smooth, Wonderboy for example has a Hardware Scroll.
Harrier Attack on the other hand is a series of Loops and a LDIR instruction to shift the position of the screen, your Plane in that game blinks because the plane needs to be deleted and redrawn as you travel through the game.