News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Programming in basic. 1st program in years. Blackjack.

Started by Z|G, 17:18, 14 May 21

Previous topic - Next topic

Z|G

Hi All.

Thought I might document my journey in learning to program in "basic" again, after * cough* years!

First off, I'd like to say that I am not a programmer (software engineer), as the next few screen shots can attest too.

I decided to write something that would use different area's of the "basic" language, such as arrays, data structures and simple logic based scenarios that would be useful to re-learn. So Blackjack was chosen to fit this brief.

It's not really graphically pleasing and would not pose any sort of challenge to more advanced programmers.
Using WinApe Emulator

Title Screen - Please excuse the crudeness of it. (lack of design finesse!)

Few screens of gameplay.... (nothing special)

Moving on...

moving on...

It splits cards - Just not shown.

I always had a cheat mode in mind, this provided more than just a way to cheat, but was a great way to actually see what was happening.
Cheat enabled. Showing Dealer Cards, and next 4 cards in shoe.

What did I learn from the experience.
It's strange to not be able to scroll above or below what you have written.
Silly mistakes, can take ages to find
If in doubt, just add more variables!!! *j/k*
Was not used to the If..Then..else limitations by that I mean, if <cond> then{do this block}else {do this other block of things}
Now understand, why others write multiple instructions on the same line
Basic can be manipulated to work.
I should get a job as a Park Ranger!
I am so used to hitting shift-8 on my laptop to produce a "(" key, shift-9 for ")" ditto for many other keys.
When writing a game about blackjack, perhaps go to a website that tell's you the rules of blackjack, I always thought 5 cards meant you won automatically *home blackjack version*
Keep track of your index's!!