News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

My introduction, and my first assembly language program

Started by the graveborn, 20:00, 28 December 13

Previous topic - Next topic

the graveborn

Hi! I've been a lurker here for a few weeks, not wanting to post an introduction thread 'til I had some source code to show... I'm a student, and I usually program in C, but I'm trying to broaden my mind so I've decided to try -- emphasis on try -- to learn to program in Z80 assembly language, specifically the Arnor MAXAM dialect, specifically for the 6128+ (I played a little on my older cousin's when I was younger); I've posted below the source code to my first assembly language program (which just prints "Hello!" to the screen -- I have a lot to learn...) -- it assembles/runs without any warnings or errors, but I'd appreciate it if anybody could tell me if I've made any egregious errors!

Hello!.Z80:
; The name of the assembled executable
write "Hello!"

; After starting the 6128+

; print himem
; 42619

; So I've assumed that using addresses
; 42600..42606 (storage for the string
; "Hello!" plus terminator) is okay...?

; Register pair HL holds the address
; 42600, to be set to the first
; character in the string
ld hl, 42600

; The memory at the address held by
; HL is set to the value 72 -
; - corresponding to the letter 'H' -
; then the address held by HL is
; incremented ready for the next
; character
ld (hl), 72  ; 'H'
inc hl

ld (hl), 101 ; 'e'
inc hl
ld (hl), 108 ; 'l'
inc hl
ld (hl), 108 ; 'l'
inc hl
ld (hl), 111 ; 'o'
inc hl
ld (hl), 33  ; '!'
inc hl

; Lastly, the memory at the address
; held by HL is set to the value 0,
; terminating the string
ld (hl), 0

ld hl, 42600
.loop
  ld a, 0

; Compare the value at the address
  ; held by HL to 0; if it *is* 0,
  ; that's the string terminator
  cp a, (hl)
  jp z, forever

; Set A to the value at the address
  ; held by HL, and use a firmware
  ; function to print A to the screen