News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Nicky Boom for CPC ?

Started by LTronic, 12:54, 04 August 19

Previous topic - Next topic

Should I port it to ?

CPC 6128 "Old" (not sure I can fit it)
12 (31.6%)
Plus machines on a 512K cart (it will fit)
26 (68.4%)
I don't care about this game
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 38

LTronic

Hello,

I got my hands over a CPC 6128 Plus I have restored succesfully + ordered a Gotek drive.
As a programmer myself I am trying to put together something on it :)

I hacked a bit around this weekend with SDCC, ConvImgCPC and Arkos Tracker 2 and tried to see what could Nicky Boom look on CPC.

Right now nothing fancy, just some packed still images and intro song I have converted using AT2 (C + assembly) but I am thinking of switching to CPCTelera (would need to integrate Arkos Tracker 2 support into it).

The music is not yet played under interrupts sadly.

Do you think it's possible to achieve a port of Nicky Boom on CPC (using CPCTelera or another framework or raw C/ASM) or not ?
Would some people be interested in this project ?

Don't judge too hard, this is my first try on CPC programming and I'm neither a graphist nor musician.

Youtube link :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LmyWfy3PQiE

Skunkfish

I'd not heard of this game before but after watching a couple a couple of Youtube vids it looks a little terrifying (the main character sprite at least).
The main issue that you will have in porting this to the CPC is replicating the smooth scrolling of the original - targeting the Plus machines would help to resolve that issue.
P.S. Your test looks good, are you using the Plus palette or regular CPC?
An expanding array of hardware available at www.cpcstore.co.uk (and issue 4 of CPC Fanzine!)

LTronic

Quote from: Skunkfish on 13:21, 04 August 19
I'd not heard of this game before but after watching a couple a couple of Youtube vids it looks a little terrifying (the main character sprite at least).