News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Smooth movement in Basic for CPC

Started by bluestar, 13:38, 08 February 23

Previous topic - Next topic

bluestar

Hi everybody,

Sorry if this is a recurrent subject but I wasn't able to find a similar post in the forum.

After 37 years of got my CPC 472 I'm now learning how to code games for Amstrad. I'm a programmer so coding itself is not a problem for me.

Currently I've the idea of develop a couple of games in Basic, and then move to a framework like CPCtelera and use C and assembly code. Just for fun.

Anyway... I've created a prototype of Oh Mummy! in Basic wich works quite fine and now I'm trying to improve some parts of the program. One is the movement of course. I'm using a 16x16 character but it blinks too much when moving.

I've tested different variations in order to improve results but there is no much difference (adding FRAME instruction, playing with transparent colors, using TAG/TAGOFF, erasing just a part of the track, etc.). Best way currently is deleting and drawing at the same PRINT instruction (a different PRINT instruction is call based on player direction with empty characters in the previous position).

Nevertheless... Is there any particular trick/procedure using pure Basic to get an acceptable smooth movement? Other solution adding machine code to Basic?

I know I'll getting better results with other languages but the idea is develop an acceptabale game and then code the same game in C in order to compare.

Thanks in advance (and excuse my English).

andycadley

I think you've probably tried most of them, at some point BASIC just isn't great for this kind of thing.

Probably the only other option left is to handle screen updates by palette switching so you can draw to the screen without it being visible, and make the change near instantaneous. It's similar to the colour plane techniques described in the manual.