CPCWiki forum

General Category => Technical Support => Software related => Topic started by: davebirl on 01:02, 20 March 19

Title: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: davebirl on 01:02, 20 March 19
Hi Folks,


As a kid I used to have a CPC464 and recently got myself a CPC6128.



I have an M4 board and just bought myself a new/old stock 3" disc. I would like to format it and test it out etc.
I've tried loading CPM into ROM but I cannot run the disckit3 command and when I load up the CPM dsk files onto the M4 board disckit3 also does not run from there.
Is there anyway I can format this 3" disc?


Cheers


Dave
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: ASiC on 01:22, 20 March 19
Load a rom that has disk format capabilities.
I believe utopia can do it.
Try parados as well
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: tjohnson on 01:24, 20 March 19
Get multi mark 1.2 - http://www.cpc-power.com/index.php?page=detail&num=9297 (http://www.cpc-power.com/index.php?page=detail&num=9297)
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: GUNHED on 01:45, 20 March 19
How to format a disc (M4 is connected):

1. Install X-DDOS (ROM number lower than M4), then use !FORMAT,1

2. Install ParaDOS (ROM number lower than M4), then use !DRIVE to enter menu (Shift and Control keys bring you to different menu levels)
3. Install FutureOS, format disc

4. Get tools from cpc-power to format a disc
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: ComSoft6128 on 08:04, 20 March 19
Hi Dave,

Install the ParaDOS rom - ParaDOS will format and also verify the disc - have a look at the manual here:

http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/ParaDOS (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/ParaDOS)
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: CraigsBar on 11:58, 20 March 19
Hi Dave,

Install the ParaDOS rom - ParaDOS will format and also verify the disc - have a look at the manual here:

http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/ParaDOS (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/ParaDOS)
Parados. The rest are just not as good! I have Parados installed internally on all my cpcs. If you need a rom burning let me know and I'll post you one.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: VincentGR on 19:44, 20 March 19
I like parados but some games don't.
I use the ROM version of Discology.
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: Audronic on 02:23, 21 March 19
I like parados but some games don't.


Do you have some examples of the games that you have a problem with Parados ?


Thanks.  Ray
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: VincentGR on 10:25, 21 March 19
Can't remember many but Double Dragon is one and from utilities discology.
I had the real ROM a couple of years ago and it was great but a real pain for games.
Same results with emulation.
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: Audronic on 10:42, 21 March 19
@VincentGR (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1053)


Thanks




Ray
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: kailokyra on 11:09, 21 March 19
Otherwise with only BASIC, you can type this little program, it will format the floppy !
Better to save it somewhere before executing as if I can recall, you'll have to reset the CPC once done :) :


Quote
1 MODE 2 : PRINT "Get the floppy containing this program out of the disc drive and insert the one to format, don't forget to put tape over the protection hole if it's a 3.5 HD floppy"
2 INPUT "Do you really want to format this disc ? 'y' for yes and 'n' for  no",choice$
3 IF choice$ = "y" THEN GOTO 10 ELSE GOTO 4
4 END
10 DATA 11,00,00,21,20,A5,06,09,72,23,23,23,23,10,F9,21,20,A5,D5,DF,1D,A5,D1,14,7A,FE,2A,20,E6,42,C0,07,00,00,C1,02,00,00,C6,02,00,00,C2,02,00,00,C7,02,00,00,C3,02,00,00,C8,02,00,00,C4,02,00,00,C9,02,00,00,C5,02,00,00
20 MEMORY &A4FF : FOR i=&A500 TO &A545 : READ a$:POKE i,VAL(chr$(38)+a$) : NEXT
30 CALL &A500
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: GUNHED on 14:15, 21 March 19
Line 30 must be CALL &A500


There is no line 11, that's part of line 10.

Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: VincentGR on 14:19, 21 March 19
Works fine, the only problem was in winape's autotype.
At line 3 ( "y" ) it replaced that characters with something else.
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: GUNHED on 15:02, 21 March 19
Wlll work fine as long as the area from &A50 to &A500 only contain &00 Bytes  ;) :)
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: VincentGR on 15:16, 21 March 19
Dunno, here formats the disk fine.
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: GUNHED on 15:28, 21 March 19
It put's the machine code in RAM beginning at address &A500, but then it jumps to address &A50. So this is a type (I guess), just on "0" was forgotten. The right address it &A500 to jump too.


It will probably not matter if you just have switched on your CPC, but after working a bit with it the wrong address could cause a crash.



Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: kailokyra on 16:59, 21 March 19
Indeed, there's no line 11, it's just the forum that jumps a line as there's no spaces in that line and it's too long. And you're correct as well with the &A500, an involontary backspace happened :p. I edited the post, thanks !
Title: Re: how to format a new 3" disc, without CPM Disk, CPC6128
Post by: VincentGR on 17:03, 21 March 19
There is a crash after the format procedure but I thought this was normal.
Anyway after that the disk is formatted.