Author Topic: Amstrad CPC WiFi  (Read 328999 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 917
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1000 on: 17:19, 29 October 16 »
Are these still available for sale?
Yes, just send me a pm with which connector type you need (and your email, so I can get in touch when its ready).
It may take a couple of weeks before it's ready though.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 917
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1001 on: 17:20, 29 October 16 »

Now back to the situation with the original screenshot where the screen is filling up from the bottom. This is with v1.0.9 now.


Should I use the wipe and update referred to earlier please to restore full functionality?

It wont hurt to try, but it sounds like it works fine alone in the MX4 and with cable, so not sure anything is wrong with it.

EDIT: It may be an idea to delete the config files under M4, if anything in those are screwed up.
« Last Edit: 17:23, 29 October 16 by Duke »

Offline Maniac

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 67
  • Likes Given: 110
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1002 on: 17:37, 29 October 16 »

It wont hurt to try, but it sounds like it works fine alone in the MX4 and with cable, so not sure anything is wrong with it.

EDIT: It may be an idea to delete the config files under M4, if anything in those are screwed up.


I'm afraid I already deleted the config files as I remember you saying about that before but it didn't achieve anything I'm afraid.


Unfortunately even with it directly connected via a cable it was doing the same thing (although I've trouble remembering now as I've tried so many things today!) until I disabled the M4 ROM. It was working just fine until today and I've not changed anything before today. I'll give the wipe and reupdate a go and report back.


Thanks for your help as always.

Offline Maniac

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 67
  • Likes Given: 110
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1003 on: 17:59, 29 October 16 »

Well after a day of chasing my tail I think I've finally found the problem.


All hardware is now working as expected.


The root of the issue ended up being a zero bytes autoexec.bas file that must have been created when I last started SymbOS. Once I deleted this it all works!  :picard:
« Last Edit: 18:04, 29 October 16 by Maniac »

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 917
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1004 on: 18:32, 29 October 16 »
Well after a day of chasing my tail I think I've finally found the problem.


All hardware is now working as expected.


The root of the issue ended up being a zero bytes autoexec.bas file that must have been created when I last started SymbOS. Once I deleted this it all works!  :picard:

Damn, sorry to hear that, but could have been worse of course :)  - Will check it out for the next update and make a check.

Offline Maniac

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 67
  • Likes Given: 110
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1005 on: 00:16, 30 October 16 »
Damn, sorry to hear that, but could have been worse of course :)  - Will check it out for the next update and make a check.
No worries, it's one of those things and didn't occur to me at first that it might be a problem as not used to this on the Amstrad!

I guess that SymbOS created it when I ran it as I didn't but guess it could have been in one of the zip files for it that I copied to the SD card!

Thanks for all of your help.

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 298
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 201
  • Likes Given: 178
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1006 on: 02:50, 30 October 16 »
Hi Duke,
possible to change this behaviour?

|cd,"#unsorted"
|cd,"discmag"
works like expected

|cd,"#unsorted/discmag"
works like expected


another test:
|cd,"m4"
|cd,"edenbl~1.dsk"
works like expected

|cd,"m4/edenbl~1.dsk"
brings an error

Thanks & Bye

Offline rcmolina

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 6
  • Likes Given: 8
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1007 on: 07:19, 30 October 16 »
Hi Duke,


Is easy to implement some kind of wildcard or auto-completion to facilitate command line operations: change directory, etc ?


Thanks!  :D

Offline Joseman

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 780
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 628
  • Likes Given: 429
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1008 on: 10:09, 30 October 16 »
Like the old 4dos command line interpreter did!!

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 917
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1009 on: 11:30, 30 October 16 »
@SOS noted !
@rcmolina & @Joseman
Not sure if it's easy :) - Please give me som examples of what you'd like.
|dir command already takes wildcards, but typically there would be multiple matches for a wildcard search, how would |cd deal with that?

Lastly, anyone has a link or list to all AMSDOS error codes?

Offline Joseman

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 780
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 628
  • Likes Given: 429
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1010 on: 11:39, 30 October 16 »
@SOS noted !
@rcmolina & @Joseman
Not sure if it's easy :) - Please give me som examples of what you'd like.
|dir command already takes wildcards, but typically there would be multiple matches for a wildcard search, how would |cd deal with that?

Lastly, anyone has a link or list to all AMSDOS error codes?

Hi Duke

If there is a directory called "Marauder"

You type Mar and then press the tab key, the interpreter understand that you want type Marauder and complete it...

If there is "Marauder" and "Maze", and you type "ma", push tab 1 time puts "marauder" press tab another time puts "Maze"

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 917
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1011 on: 11:47, 30 October 16 »
Thanks, I see. That would require a major hack to the lowerrom, so out of my scope. Something like that should be build into a quick launcher/navigator instead.

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 683
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 397
  • Likes Given: 884
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1012 on: 11:52, 30 October 16 »
Hi Duke,

The AmsDOS error codes are in the 6128 users manual, Chapter 7.

http://www.cpcwiki.eu/manuals/AmstradCPC6128-hypertext-en-Sinewalker.pdf

Here is a quick screen grab of the page.

[attachimg=1]

Cheers,
Shane
« Last Edit: 11:58, 30 October 16 by 00WReX »
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline rcmolina

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 6
  • Likes Given: 8
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1013 on: 12:04, 30 October 16 »
My experience when typing is that time is spent mostly changing directories and navigating in a deep structure. So, for me it shall be usefull to use some type of wildcard at the end of the cd command to change to the first dir that matches.


Is this OK for you? I don't know if someone also finds it useful. I don't Know which can be this preferred char, not commonly used to avoid overlapping when using in a real name., may be bang !?




The question is "first one" to be really useful, may be it need to be sorted. So if 3 dirs exist  cpc1 cpc21 cpc2 cpc22345678 , and you type
|cd,"cpc2!" -> changes to cpc2
!cd,"cpc22! -> changes to cpc22345678


If you think this is stupid or unesuful, simply forget it.  :D


 

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 298
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 201
  • Likes Given: 178
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1014 on: 14:05, 30 October 16 »
The question is "first one" to be really useful, may be it need to be sorted. So if 3 dirs exist  cpc1 cpc21 cpc2 cpc22345678 , and you type
|cd,"cpc2!" -> changes to cpc2
!cd,"cpc22! -> changes to cpc22345678
What about the ms-dos-wildcard * ?
|cd,"cpc2*" -> changes to cpc2
!cd,"cpc22* -> changes to cpc22345678

Offline rcmolina

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 6
  • Likes Given: 8
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1015 on: 14:28, 30 October 16 »
What about the ms-dos-wildcard * ?
|cd,"cpc2*" -> changes to cpc2
!cd,"cpc22* -> changes to cpc22345678


The perfect option, no doubt The most intuitive one.  :doh:

Offline Laurence Morgan

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Liked: 0
  • Likes Given: 9
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1016 on: 14:46, 30 October 16 »
Yes, just send me a pm with which connector type you need (and your email, so I can get in touch when its ready).
It may take a couple of weeks before it's ready though.


awesome. thank you

Offline Prodatron

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 830
  • Country: de
  • Back on the Z80
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • SymbOS SYmbiosis Multitasking Based Operating System
  • Liked: 1059
  • Likes Given: 554
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1017 on: 14:51, 30 October 16 »
Hi Duke

If there is a directory called "Marauder"

You type Mar and then press the tab key, the interpreter understand that you want type Marauder and complete it...

If there is "Marauder" and "Maze", and you type "ma", push tab 1 time puts "marauder" press tab another time puts "Maze"

This is how TAB-autocomplete works in the SymbOS SymShell (in this case even with the M4):

https://youtu.be/bB6X7V6fVyE?t=1m

For Amsdos you could use the |CD command without a parameter:
First type |CD + [return],
then type MA and then choose MARAUDER or MAZE with [tab] and press [return] again.
That's just an idea how it could be implemented in Amsdos.

GRAPHICAL Z80 MULTITASKING OPERATING SYSTEM

Offline Prodatron

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 830
  • Country: de
  • Back on the Z80
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • SymbOS SYmbiosis Multitasking Based Operating System
  • Liked: 1059
  • Likes Given: 554
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1018 on: 14:54, 30 October 16 »
The root of the issue ended up being a zero bytes autoexec.bas file that must have been created when I last started SymbOS. Once I deleted this it all works!  :picard:
SymbOS shouldn't touch a file like "autoexec.bas". Do you think it destroyed this file?

GRAPHICAL Z80 MULTITASKING OPERATING SYSTEM

Offline Maniac

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 67
  • Likes Given: 110
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1019 on: 15:34, 30 October 16 »
SymbOS shouldn't touch a file like "autoexec.bas". Do you think it destroyed this file?
I didn't create one or the equivalent .bak file so I think it must have come from one of the SymbOS zip files I extracted to the SD card if the OS doesn't create one.

This is a pure guess as I've not checked the zip files if I'm honest so sorry if this is wrong.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 917
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1020 on: 15:48, 30 October 16 »
Here is another small update:
M4 Firmware V1.1.0 Beta 6 - Download http://www.spinpoint.org/cpc/M4FIRM_v110b6.zip

  • New ESC key fix cat/dir, hope its OK this time @00WReX
  • Started adding proper amsdos error codes(not finished). Ie. file not found will be displayed correctly now.
  • |cd,"path with wildcards", ie |cd,"games/al?en*"  . Will only work on last path and not with DSK files
  • |cd,"somepath/somefile.dsk" . cd into dsk files in remote path.
  • Skip autoexec.bas if 0 bytes (@Maniac!). However it's your own responsiblity file contents are valid, otherwise, crash !
  • Some other stuff I forgot about.
Not very well tested as I am lazy :)  - Let me know if any issues, thanks.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 917
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1021 on: 15:54, 30 October 16 »
This is how TAB-autocomplete works in the SymbOS SymShell (in this case even with the M4):

https://youtu.be/bB6X7V6fVyE?t=1m

For Amsdos you could use the |CD command without a parameter:
First type |CD + [return],
then type MA and then choose MARAUDER or MAZE with [tab] and press [return] again.
That's just an idea how it could be implemented in Amsdos.
How about C_REBOOTRUN,"path/file" cmd ? :)
This way you could use all the nice features of SymbOS to download, unpack, navigate and even run a amsdos file easily. With a little SymbOS command (ie. run.exe)

Offline rcmolina

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 6
  • Likes Given: 8
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1022 on: 17:05, 30 October 16 »
Here is another small update:
M4 Firmware V1.1.0 Beta 6 - Download http://www.spinpoint.org/cpc/M4FIRM_v110b6.zip


Thanks for your help. You are my hero!!  :P

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 683
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 397
  • Likes Given: 884
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1023 on: 07:12, 31 October 16 »
Hi Duke, i just updated to the latest beta.
The ESC to pause function seems better and from a quick check functions as it is supposed to (1x ESC to pause with SPACE to resume).
The only issue I have noticed is that on a large listing, if you pause multiple times and resume each time or in fact completely break after a few pauses, then a list of breaks will appear on the screen ( *Break* ).

e.g.
I paused a 'cat' listing multiple times and resumed it with space.
At the end of the listing I received this.

Quote
Ready
*Break*
  *Break*
  *Break*
  *Break*
  *Break*
  *Break*
  *Break*
  *Break*
   *Break*

Cheers,
Shane

Just checked out the wildcard on |CD feature, that is really handy and works well.  ;)

  • |cd,"path with wildcards", ie |cd,"games/al?en*"  . Will only work on last path and not with DSK files
« Last Edit: 08:23, 31 October 16 by 00WReX »
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline rpalmer

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 548
  • Country: au
  • Liked: 362
  • Likes Given: 18
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1024 on: 13:51, 31 October 16 »
Any |cd command cannot have wildcards as it would be impossible to know which path to take.
Consider the following:

|cd,"path*"

if the current path location has sub-directories:

path1
path2
path3

which sub-directory do you follow?

Any attempt to change path with an item which is a file within the path is also an error.

For example:

|cd,"./thispath/myfile.txt/file.bin"

where myfile.txt is a file and not a directory.

it is also an error if the last item is a file.

rpalmer