Author Topic: Amstrad CPC WiFi  (Read 235106 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.158
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1100
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1500 on: 21:05, 18 April 17 »
OK, I admit it is a long time since I have been here and I have missed a lot (I've been focusing on my Amiga 600 with Vampire accelerator) however I am now back!

I see all these nice new commands (IDISC, |TAPE, ISD, IFCP etc)

but I am not able to get any of them to work :(

Idisc does nothing - it remains resolutely looking at the SD card
|sd might do something - if I could make it look at anything else OTHER than the SD card
|tape does nto work with FW3.16 as there is no tape support. Any chance of implementing tape support into the M8 rom?
|FCP does nothing at all

What am I missing. I am sure I am just being too stupid for words but it's kinda irritating.

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.158
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1100
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1501 on: 00:29, 19 April 17 »
OK, I admit it is a long time since I have been here and I have missed a lot (I've been focusing on my Amiga 600 with Vampire accelerator) however I am now back!

I see all these nice new commands (IDISC, |TAPE, ISD, IFCP etc)

but I am not able to get any of them to work :(

Idisc does nothing - it remains resolutely looking at the SD card
|sd might do something - if I could make it look at anything else OTHER than the SD card
|tape does nto work with FW3.16 as there is no tape support. Any chance of implementing tape support into the M8 rom?
|FCP does nothing at all

What am I missing. I am sure I am just being too stupid for words but it's kinda irritating.
OK. Sorted it... Needed parados in slot 7 and m4rom in 6.

Now it works

Awesome.

Sent from my ONEPLUS 3t using Tapatalk


Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 625
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 322
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1502 on: 14:26, 19 April 17 »
Hi Duke,

I think something broke between v2.03b1  &  v2.03b2.

With v2.03b2, if I load any game (an example is 1942) and once loaded perform a soft reset on the CPC.
The Auoexec.bas file is not read.  I have to reset the M4 to get it to work again.
I just went back to v2.03b1 to confirm it, the Autoexec.bas file is read on a soft reset on the CPC (Control, Shift + ESC).

Cheers,
Shane
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 918
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 876
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1503 on: 15:15, 19 April 17 »
With v2.03b2, if I load any game (an example is 1942) and once loaded perform a soft reset on the CPC.
The Auoexec.bas file is not read.  I have to reset the M4 to get it to work again.
I just went back to v2.03b1 to confirm it, the Autoexec.bas file is read on a soft reset on the CPC (Control, Shift + ESC).
Noted thanks. Probably because it |cd'ed into the folder/dsk and doesn't find the autoexec.bas there.... will fix.


It'll probably be a bit before the next release as I got lot of boards to build. Just got new PCB's and the reflow oven overheated with 3 complete boards, what a shitty day :/
« Last Edit: 15:22, 19 April 17 by Duke »

Offline number-one

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 5
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1504 on: 22:27, 19 April 17 »
Hello,
I have the m4 board on CPC 6218 with the firmware V. 203b2.
I uploaded the rom "os6128 (French AZERTY) modded for M4" on Lower-rom slot 31 and enable it.
I uploaded the rom "Boulderdash.rom" on slot 1.

How can I launch a rom game ?

I copied "Skweek (F) (1989) [Original] (GAPS).dsk" and "Super Cauldron (UK,F,G) (1993) [Original].dsk" on the sd card.
I use "Disk menu" modified by Takis Kalatzis for following the dsk file.

Drive A://SWEEK~1.DSK
RUN"SWEEK   .BAS" (Nothing happens)
Drive A://SUPERC~1.DSK
RUN"DISC     .BAS" (dead screen and floppy drive reading)

Offline Targhan

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 694
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 616
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1505 on: 00:55, 20 April 17 »
Sorry I can't read the 151 pages of this topic, I've only heard about this card from Krusty at the Revision. I'm interested in the SNA capabilities of this card. Basically, I'd like to inject SNApshots from PC to the CPC. It seems the reboot can be ordered from the PC, so I can directly compile on PC and transfert the SNA on CPC without touching it! Is this true?


I already have a Mother X4 and the HxC, so I'm no interested in the virtual drive and the SD Card, since I already have it. I guess as long as I don't use the special RSXs, I can do without?



Is there a website where all this is explained? I searched a bit but couldn't find anything (I may have searched too quickly, forgive me...).


Thanks.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 918
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 876
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1506 on: 03:42, 20 April 17 »
I uploaded the rom "Boulderdash.rom" on slot 1.

How can I launch a rom game ?
Type mode 2. |M4HELP,1 to display the RSX for the rom, that will be how you start it.
Quote from: number-one
I copied "Skweek (F) (1989) [Original] (GAPS).dsk" and "Super Cauldron (UK,F,G) (1993) [Original].dsk" on the sd card.
Most likely you should use cracked versions of those games, I notice the title says original, if they use any kind of protection/custom FDC loading, they will fail.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 918
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 876
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1507 on: 03:51, 20 April 17 »
Sorry I can't read the 151 pages of this topic, I've only heard about this card from Krusty at the Revision. I'm interested in the SNA capabilities of this card. Basically, I'd like to inject SNApshots from PC to the CPC. It seems the reboot can be ordered from the PC, so I can directly compile on PC and transfert the SNA on CPC without touching it! Is this true?
Yes. You can upload and run SNA's from your PC. Or even just regular binaries

The tool to use is here (link to source code aswell). Webinterface can be used too:
http://cpcwiki.eu/index.php/CPC_M4_xfer_tool
Quote from: Targhan
I already have a Mother X4 and the HxC, so I'm no interested in the virtual drive and the SD Card, since I already have it. I guess as long as I don't use the special RSXs, I can do without?
MicroSD card is needed, the SNA's and WIFI config is stored on it, then executed. But M4 ROM can live together with AMSDOS/Parados. Just type |DISC to access disc drives instead (you can even put it in an autoexec.bas file on microSD, so its automated). Completely disabling M4 rom is also possible using |M4ROMOFF.
Quote from: Targhan
Is there a website where all this is explained? I searched a bit but couldn't find anything (I may have searched too quickly, forgive me...).
http://www.spinpoint.org/cpc/m4info.txt   the documentation.
http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/M4_Board  some additional things here.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 918
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 876
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1508 on: 05:41, 20 April 17 »
A FYI for all boards shipping now, I have changed the PCB layout(again). The size has been decreased to now match the MX4 "formfactor" (actually a bit smaller, 76.5 x 49.5), also so I could panalize two boards making it a bit faster to apply the solder paste.
Main changes are that WiFi and microSD are now on the backside of the PCB.  Removal of unused I/O pins (serial port still retained), rtc battery holder.
A plain reset button has been added aswell. This has the advantage over the M4 reset, that you can retain whatever path you are in.


* M4_old_new.jpg
(326.47 kB, 1050x562 - viewed 91 times)

M4 edge connector version 2.4


* M4_old_new_back.jpg
(312.18 kB, 1074x514 - viewed 86 times)

M4 IDC connector version, new vs old front.


* M4_XMEM.jpg
(340.04 kB, 1143x643 - viewed 85 times)

M4 IDC connector version, new vs old back.

 [ Invalid Attachment ]
M4 & XMem inserted to MotherX4.

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 625
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 322
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1509 on: 07:46, 20 April 17 »
Ooh, that's nice.

Looks like I may have to order another... :-X

Thanks Duke, for continuing to upgrade both the software & hardware  ;) ...Awesome.

Cheers,
Shane
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.158
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1100
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1510 on: 09:34, 20 April 17 »
Ooh, that's nice.

Looks like I may have to order another... :-X

Thanks Duke, for continuing to upgrade both the software & hardware  ;) ...Awesome.

Cheers,
Shane
I was just thinking the same!

Sent from my ONEPLUS 3t using Tapatalk


Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 918
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 876
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1511 on: 10:24, 20 April 17 »
@00WReX & @CraigsBar
Don't it's just a cosmetic change, mainly to make it easier for me to build (ie. I wont have to handsolder the wifi module anymore and can process two boards at a time).

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 625
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 322
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1512 on: 13:42, 20 April 17 »
Aawwwww, but I want one.

Seriously, I realise it is cosmetic, I have been thinking about getting another for a while now.
I have a lot of Amstrads and not enough M4's   :P

Plus the added bonus of a 'CPC only' reset button is nice.  ;)

PM sent...

Cheers,
Shane
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.158
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1100
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1513 on: 22:51, 20 April 17 »
@00WReX & @CraigsBar
Don't it's just a cosmetic change, mainly to make it easier for me to build (ie. I wont have to handsolder the wifi module anymore and can process two boards at a time).
@duke if I solder a battery holder onto the back, is the rtc functional or not?

Sent from my ONEPLUS 3t using Tapatalk


Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 918
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 876
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1514 on: 23:54, 20 April 17 »
@duke if I solder a battery holder onto the back, is the rtc functional or not?
Nope, I would have to add support for it in the software. Besides you need a clock, a resistor and 2 caps.

Offline Liamob1

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 3
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1515 on: 00:11, 21 April 17 »
Apologies, if this has been discussed already previously... but has anybody managed to get an ATDT connection/BBS/Terminal to work using the m4 card?


Just a thought being, that it has WiFi capabilities and it can host custom ROMs like a terminal application, why wouldn't it be possible?  :P

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 918
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 876
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1516 on: 00:28, 21 April 17 »
Apologies, if this has been discussed already previously... but has anybody managed to get an ATDT connection/BBS/Terminal to work using the m4 card?


Just a thought being, that it has WiFi capabilities and it can host custom ROMs like a terminal application, why wouldn't it be possible?  :P

I don't see any reason why it should not be possible, but someone would have to do the work :)

Offline Liamob1

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 3
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1517 on: 00:32, 21 April 17 »
I don't see any reason why it should not be possible, but someone would have to do the work :)


I may attempt this when mine arrives! I've seen that SymOS does something similar!

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.158
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1100
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1518 on: 13:20, 21 April 17 »
I'd love a cpc native IRC client just in case anyone fancies a challenge lol. SymIRC is great but an cpc native one would be amazing.

Sent from my ONEPLUS 3t using Tapatalk


Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 227
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 138
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1519 on: 13:00, 22 April 17 »
YANCC new Version:

Changelog:
- Change of memory usage, so maybe some none reproduceable problems are solved
- Making Space for features, now you need everytime install both ROMs
  (without autoboot you can choose any rom-number, e.g. Launcher on 8, YANCC on 15)
- M4DOS: Floppy-Access (as drive C+D)
- M4DOS: MKDIR: Support of lower chars.
- AMSDOS+M4DOS: The copy of big-files (approx fro 35KB to 64KB) are boring slow (CAS_IN/OUT_CHAR speedup).
- AMSDOS+M4DOS(when AMSDOS present): 1:1 Copy of Fileheader
- Copy of protected binaries
- Small fixes

Download here: http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/applications/yet-another-norton-commander-clone/

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.158
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1100
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1520 on: 13:47, 22 April 17 »
Is there anyway AmsDOS or ParaDOS (and possibly the lower rom) can be patched so that Ams/ParaDOS can be in slot 8 with m4 rom in 7 and they still get initialised in the right order? I find I am swapping the m4 rom between 6 and 7 for compatibility and floppy / copying  use.

Sent from my ONEPLUS 3t using Tapatalk


Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 918
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 876
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1521 on: 16:04, 22 April 17 »
Is there anyway AmsDOS or ParaDOS (and possibly the lower rom) can be patched so that Ams/ParaDOS can be in slot 8 with m4 rom in 7 and they still get initialised in the right order? I find I am swapping the m4 rom between 6 and 7 for compatibility and floppy / copying  use.

Sent from my ONEPLUS 3t using Tapatalk
It should work fine if you put AMSDOS/Parados in slot 8 and M4 in slot 7.

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.158
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1100
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1522 on: 21:31, 22 April 17 »
It just reboot loops.

Sent from my ONEPLUS 3t using Tapatalk


Offline rafa32gr

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: 00
  • Liked: 54
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1523 on: 00:23, 25 April 17 »
Sorry if this is not the correct thread, if you think i must move it, i'll do it


I'm polishing a little my m4 explorer application, now it can play Arkos tracker songs  , local (pressing R key) and  online (pressing P key), but for this funcionality you must download tracker5.bin file or m4explorer.zip, because older m4.bas dont download it, 5 key stops the music.


If the file you trying to run is an .scr , it will show at full screen.


I introduced a little fre(0) checking at start to manage memory in one or other way, i expect this solve any of the problems people report me (in mi 6128 and my 464 it works fine)


Thank you very much for the time spend testing it.




P.D. If you want add more Arkos tracks, you must compile .bin file at 0x600 and rename it to .aks extension
« Last Edit: 11:15, 25 April 17 by rafa32gr »

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 918
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 876
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1524 on: 08:53, 25 April 17 »
It just reboot loops.
Ok, will check, it should have worked :)

I'm polishing a little my m4 explorer application, now it can play Arkos tracker songs  , local (pressing R key) and  online (pressing P key), but for this funcionality you must download tracker5.bin file or m4explorer.zip, because older m4.bas dont download it, 5 key stops the music.

The download link on your page fails (404) http://amstrad.esy.es/menu/m4explorer.zip