Author Topic: Installing a Gotek into a 6128  (Read 3709 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Zeb

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 7
  • Likes Given: 0
Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« on: 19:29, 27 July 17 »
For those who aren't aware, Keir Fraser from the Commodore Amiga group has started to write complete brand new firmware for the Gotek and he's making it completely 100% open source.

So far compatible with the Amiga, ST and CPC and more machines will be supported in the future.

https://github.com/keirf/FlashFloppy/releases

The best thing about this is that you can flash your Gotek using a male to male (type A to A) USB cable and not that annoying serial TTL method. It works with the CPC because it supports HFE files as well as Amiga ADF files.

Now for my question...

I've spent a bit of time looking for instructions on how to install a Gotek into a CPC but I can't find much and what I can find I don't understand.

Is anyone able to explain the procedure for me please in basic terms listing together what additional hardware I need, if any?

Many thanks :)

Offline Ast

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 998
  • Country: fr
    • Amstrad cpc Website of Ast/iMPACT
  • Liked: 789
  • Likes Given: 679
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« Reply #1 on: 19:40, 27 July 17 »


I'm happy to present you this topic.
Hope it will help you!


French only, of course, but a lot of pictures to explain how to do!
if you want to install your Gotek Inside a Cpc 6128, remember that you can't use the 12v drive cable.
Gotek works with 5v only !
« Last Edit: 19:52, 27 July 17 by Ast »
_____________________

Ast/iMP4CT. "By the power of Grayskull, i've the power"


Amstrad Plus French Forum

All friends are welcomed !

Offline Zeb

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 7
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« Reply #2 on: 20:52, 27 July 17 »
Thanks! Having a read now :)

https://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=auto&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Famstradplus.forumforever.com%2Ft315-Premi-re-Mise-en-route-d-un-lecteur-Hxc-ou-Gotek.htm
https://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=auto&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Famstradplus.forumforever.com%2Ft315-Premi-re-Mise-en-route-d-un-lecteur-Hxc-ou-Gotek.htm

Offline Sykobee (Briggsy)

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 696
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 238
  • Likes Given: 354
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« Reply #3 on: 21:08, 27 July 17 »
I have a Gotek (for my Amiga, but not installed yet) and a 464 with DDI1 (and drive), just have to find time to set it all up and give it a go.

Offline Zeb

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 7
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« Reply #4 on: 21:11, 27 July 17 »
Not a lot of info to be honest.

1. I presume the data ribbon cable can just be plugged in without any modification?

2. No info on what they've done with the power supply to connect to a USB cable for 5v - looks highly dangerous!

I have a Gotek (for my Amiga, but not installed yet) and a 464 with DDI1 (and drive), just have to find time to set it all up and give it a go.
I've got two Goteks in two Amigas (A1200 and A500) and really want to get one in my 6128 :)

Offline Ast

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 998
  • Country: fr
    • Amstrad cpc Website of Ast/iMPACT
  • Liked: 789
  • Likes Given: 679
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« Reply #5 on: 23:03, 27 July 17 »

Not a lot of info to be honest.

1. I presume the data ribbon cable can just be plugged in without any modification?

2. No info on what they've done with the power supply to connect to a USB cable for 5v - looks highly dangerous!
I've got two Goteks in two Amigas (A1200 and A500) and really want to get one in my 6128 :)
Not a lot of info ?
1. You presumed right
2. About the cable, i only use a mini usb cable, then i cut the right piece. To finish I pasted it an old 3p1/2 disc cable.
Dangerous ? surely not ! We are speaking about usb cable, right ?
_____________________

Ast/iMP4CT. "By the power of Grayskull, i've the power"


Amstrad Plus French Forum

All friends are welcomed !

Offline Zeb

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 7
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« Reply #6 on: 23:20, 27 July 17 »
As I said (and still say!) it looks dangerous because that USB cable in the photo looks wired directly into a two pin mains plug.
« Last Edit: 23:22, 27 July 17 by Zeb »

Offline Zeb

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 7
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« Reply #7 on: 23:28, 27 July 17 »
OK let's start again from the start as this is clearly going nowhere.

Anyone have some BASIC instructions on how to fit a Gotek into a 6128 please? Can't find anything I can understand!

Offline Ast

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 998
  • Country: fr
    • Amstrad cpc Website of Ast/iMPACT
  • Liked: 789
  • Likes Given: 679
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« Reply #8 on: 00:45, 28 July 17 »

As I said (and still say!) it looks dangerous because that USB cable in the photo looks wired directly into a two pin mains plug.


The cable is not directly plugged into the main plug.
You have the cable, and the main plug.


But you could also try that
_____________________

Ast/iMP4CT. "By the power of Grayskull, i've the power"


Amstrad Plus French Forum

All friends are welcomed !

Offline Shaun M. Neary

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.349
  • Country: 00
  • Read error a
  • Liked: 468
  • Likes Given: 426
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« Reply #9 on: 03:18, 28 July 17 »
Please no! Just get an external floppy cable and hook it up externally for the love of God!

You may not think this now, but I really don't think there's a pretty way of doing this, and you may regret butchering up your CPC to do this later on.

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.280
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1171
  • Likes Given: 79
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« Reply #10 on: 22:43, 28 July 17 »
Please no! Just get an external floppy cable and hook it up externally for the love of God!

You may not think this now, but I really don't think there's a pretty way of doing this, and you may regret butchering up your CPC to do this later on.
Agreed. Connect it externally, and fit an ABBA switch so you reverse the mod easily and still use the gotek as drive A.

Sent from my ONEPLUS 3t using Tapatalk

IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 683
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 396
  • Likes Given: 884
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128 - FlashFloppy
« Reply #11 on: 08:22, 17 November 17 »
Hi All,

Just an FYI for those that may be interested...

************************
** FlashFloppy Release Notes
************************

** v0.9.1a - 16 November 2017
   - Acorn ADFS image support (ADM, ADL)
   - Better detection of DSK image type (CPC-DSK vs raw sector file)

** v0.9.0a - 15 November 2017
** Amstrad CPC / Spectrum +3 DSK support
      - DSK directly supported for read and write. Please report any issues!

    - Improved error reporting
    - New FF.CFG option "startup-delay = N"

https://github.com/keirf/FlashFloppy

Cheers,
Shane

The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline Skunkfish

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 440
  • Country: gb
  • Editor of Colour Personal Computing
    • Colour Personal Computing - The CPC Fanzine
  • Liked: 318
  • Likes Given: 728
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« Reply #12 on: 11:28, 17 November 17 »
I've not come across FlashFloppy, it looks interesting.

What are the advantages over the HxC firmware (now that HxC supports .DSK)?
Nothing to say for now

Offline Sykobee (Briggsy)

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 696
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 238
  • Likes Given: 354
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« Reply #13 on: 12:12, 17 November 17 »
It's free and open source, whereas the HxC firmware has a license fee.


https://github.com/keirf/FlashFloppy

Offline ukmarkh

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.417
  • Country: england
    • Classic Replay
  • Liked: 301
  • Likes Given: 75
Re: Installing a Gotek into a 6128
« Reply #14 on: 12:24, 17 November 17 »
I could never get my Gotek to work on my CPC, with the guide below and new software I'm going to give it another bash. thx