CPCWiki forum

General Category => Amstrad CPC hardware => Topic started by: Piotr on 15:02, 29 February 20

Title: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: Piotr on 15:02, 29 February 20
Base board:
- 7 slots for MotherX style cards64 kb ram       6128 rom and Basic 1.1          ATX power connector       ITX size 170x170 mm     PS2CPC  BT module for wireless loading CDT files  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PxS9eZqX48&t=8s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PxS9eZqX48&t=8s)https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YpUch69Mxj0&t=9s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YpUch69Mxj0&t=9s)
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: GUNHED on 17:15, 29 February 20
Awesome! Tell us more details please.  :)
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: CFox on 21:14, 01 March 20
That looks amazing. To me it looks like it is practically Amstrad clone packaged to ITX sized MB and it seems to have ST Microeletronics Z80A on it. Brilliant!


Installing that to some beautiful ITX case would be seriously cool on anyone’s desktop.
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: SkulleateR on 10:06, 02 March 20
Awesome! Tell us more details please.  :)
Yes, PLEASE  8)
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: SOS on 10:13, 02 March 20
Pre-Order-List?  ;D
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: zhulien on 03:49, 06 March 20
Totally awesome!!!  What is the additional cost if 8 or 16 Mx4 slots were present?
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: Piotr on 17:02, 06 March 20
Duke M4 card added, Just CPC 4 is  Wi fi ready ;)

Details ?
- base board is in THT,  so self assembly is not really hard.
-PS2CPC from Gerald , PS2 keyboard interface is on board  , thanks ;)
-ROM and basic CPC 6128 1.1
-64 kb ram-board size 17x17 cm as ITX (mounting holes can not fit )- 7 slot for expansion cards , Mother X style. ( Playcity, M4, or others)
- Bluetooth module for load CDT files from mobile phone , for example "Breaking Baud" ;)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PxS9eZqX48&t=1s
On the moment i have also 512kb ram expansion card, 4mb ram expansion card, Floppy interface card also in Mother X style .

- Changes from prototype...
- i cancel ATX power supply  connector, now board have normal 5,5/2.1  , 5 volt socket power supply .  Power on/off is still as in PC. Push button ;)
And yes, i know, you kidding me. ;)







Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: VintageAdvantage on 00:03, 13 March 20
How do you do the Gate Array. FPGA?  Can you point me to the FPGA code please, I am building clone of Russian and Eastern Germany home computer, I can integrate your code. Right now, I have Robotron. I call it "The Red Kremlin".


Get in touch if you want to do business with me, but I need your code and schematics first. I can distribute your product in USA.
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: TotO on 00:43, 13 March 20
Get in touch if you want to do business with me, but I need your code and schematics first. I can distribute your product in USA.
He use the Amstrad schematics and spare IC that are Amstrad Copyright and resell them to do retro-business.  :-\
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: VintageAdvantage on 00:50, 13 March 20
He use the Amstrad schematics and spare IC that are Amstrad Copyright and resell them to do retro-business.  :-\


Sure, then he must have permission from Amstrad / Sky to call it "CPC" and use their chips and schematics, right?
Like the "Spectrum Next" guys who got permission from Sinclair - Amstrad - Sky to do so. 
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: TotO on 00:55, 13 March 20
The problem is the limited GA qty (NOS or used) to do a real "CPC next" w/o FPGA engineering making that design not viable IMHO.
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: VintageAdvantage on 00:59, 13 March 20
The problem is the limited GA qty (NOS or used) to do a real "CPC next" w/o FPGA engineering making that design not viable IMHO.


One thing is damn sure - I wouldn't wanna disassemble my CPC just to stick the GA on some ATX motherboard. Like the idea but you need to get GA into FPGA, otherwise it is a no starter. Check out what Spectrum Next guys were doing. How come the CPC community has no FPGA model of the main chip of their machine. What have you guys been doing all these years. Just playing games?  ;) 
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: VintageAdvantage on 01:21, 13 March 20
BUT OVERALL - GREAT PRODUCT AND ACHIEVEMENT!
CONGRATS
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: robcfg on 08:08, 13 March 20

One thing is damn sure - I wouldn't wanna disassemble my CPC just to stick the GA on some ATX motherboard. Like the idea but you need to get GA into FPGA, otherwise it is a no starter. Check out what Spectrum Next guys were doing. How come the CPC community has no FPGA model of the main chip of their machine. What have you guys been doing all these years. Just playing games?  ;)


https://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/amstrad-cpc-hardware/gate-array-decapped!/ (https://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/amstrad-cpc-hardware/gate-array-decapped!/)


Also, there are several FPGA implementations of the CPC, for example on the ZX-Uno.
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: TotO on 16:01, 13 March 20
https://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/amstrad-cpc-hardware/gate-array-decapped!/ (https://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/amstrad-cpc-hardware/gate-array-decapped!/)
Sure, it will be the best option.
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: Piotr on 20:28, 13 March 20
Floppy controler added.  Working as dream. So i can confirm, M4 from Duke working, My 4 mb ram working, 512 RAM working, Floppy controller working ;)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MvFXaxrY_eY
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: VintageAdvantage on 01:24, 14 March 20
Sure, it will be the best option.

Yes that right
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: VintageAdvantage on 01:34, 14 March 20
 8)
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: Piotr on 19:58, 21 March 20
Well, ready and in case.
-4 mb ram-M4 from Duke-DDI + microgotek
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xC1O6jrawEE
Working ;)



Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: GUNHED on 15:21, 22 March 20
Pretty nice new computer! Will it run FutureOS too?
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: zhulien on 14:18, 07 May 20
how far off is this?
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: Matej on 00:16, 10 May 20
Beautiful! I have 2xJustCPC1 need this too :).
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: megatronuk on 15:18, 10 May 20
Please, please, please do another run of the PS2CPC!
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: GUNHED on 18:38, 10 May 20
how far off is this?
What exactly is your question?

Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: SkulleateR on 03:36, 11 May 20
What exactly is your question?
Guess it´s something like : "When will it be released ?"  ;D
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: GUNHED on 15:58, 11 May 20
My English suxx!  :picard:
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: Bryce on 16:01, 11 May 20
There's a very similar German phrase: "Wie weit sind wir davon entfernt?"

Bryce.
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: SkulleateR on 01:43, 12 May 20
There's a very similar German phrase: "Wie weit sind wir davon entfernt?"

Bryce.
Eher : "Ich will das !! JETZT !"  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: Bryce on 20:20, 17 May 20
Eher : "Ich will das !! JETZT !"  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Heisst das nicht: "HABEN WOLLEN!!" ?

Bryce.
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: SkulleateR on 01:46, 18 May 20
Heisst das nicht: "HABEN WOLLEN!!" ?

Bryce.
Stimmt ! Oder auch : "GIB MIR !"  8)
Title: Re: Hm... Just CPC 4 under tests
Post by: VintageAdvantage on 21:50, 25 May 20
Seems it is not for sale - otherwise we would hear something from him???