CPCWiki forum

General Category => Emulators => Topic started by: tronic on 22:40, 08 April 13

Title: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
Post by: tronic on 22:40, 08 April 13
Hello,
I use winape for a long time on different PC (win xp, win 7, azerty keyboard) without any problems...
I also often uses many configurations (.rom/.kbd) without any problems...

I recently buy a new PC with windows 8, azerty keyboard.
Installed winape on it.
Works like a charm... but not the keyboard... even with the same configuration (rom/kbd) from the win xp / win7 i usually use...
Some keys on the PC/win8 keyboard are strangely not well recognized and strangely not configurable well too...
Strange garbages (see picture) also appear on the screen only and simply pressing the [right shift key] on the PC...
I've tested another PC keyboard on this win8 PC, same problems...
Also tested with many options enabled/disabled (AMX mouse, Multiface, Joystick... etc.. etc...), same problems...
Tried ton run winape with win xp / win 7 compatibility, same problems...
Tried older winape version, idem...

Finally, I tested winape on another PC running windows 8, same problems...  :o

Any clue ? Someone can also test ? Any issue ? Could it be a winape bug ?

Thanks for your help.
Tronic/GPA
[/right]
Title: Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
Post by: Devilmarkus on 23:35, 08 April 13
The bug is: Windows 8 ;)

On a real CPC I'd say the AY is broken...

Did you also try older WinApe versions?
Title: Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
Post by: ralferoo on 20:56, 09 April 13
Looks like it thinks the control key is pressed down. Try pressing and releasing both ctrl buttons in turn.
Title: Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
Post by: Devilmarkus on 21:54, 09 April 13
Looks like it thinks the control key is pressed down. Try pressing and releasing both ctrl buttons in turn.

Well I think, the chars appear without pressing any keys.
It looks the same, when you don't connect the AY to the PPI port.
(No keyboard signals handled)
Title: Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
Post by: Devilmarkus on 22:12, 09 April 13
To understand it better:

This is, what happens when the PPI cannot read the AY port. (http://cpc-live.com/ppi_psg_bug/)
Title: Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
Post by: Executioner on 02:04, 10 April 13
As per a previous thread on this topic, this has been fixed in the current source code and will be in the next release. It's caused by dodgy Windows 8 DirectX keyboard drivers. Please PM me for a copy of the Pre-Release.
Title: Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
Post by: HAL 6128 on 13:53, 10 April 13
...on a previous post there's a description of changing the keyboard driver (on Win7 System). I had the same problem. With changing the driver the problem in that case was solved. Do you have hardware from HP?
Title: Re: [WINAPE/Windows8] Bug ?
Post by: tronic on 22:58, 10 April 13
Hello,
All, many thanks for your replies.
Hal6128, you were true, problem solved by changing keyboard driver (http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=18465&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0&sid=1eb9de2ef9185b928824ea0e19aa2704) of my Dell inspiron 2330 under win8.
Executioner, thanks & PM to get a copy of the pre-release also sent !
Best.
Tronic/GPA.